Blurbity Blurb Blurb Blurb

Where have I been? Is this going to another post in which I bemoan the fact that despite the longing in my soul, I haven’t been able to write for one reason or another?

I hope NOT!

Really now, if this turns into a woe is me post, just hit the unfollow icon if you are one of the two people who actually follow me (bye mom!) or add some snarky anonymous comment if you just had the unfortunate luck of stumbling onto this blog. I will completely understand.

But that’s not what this is all about. The truth is, I have been writing. Been writing every day for the past few weeks as a matter of fact. With the help of a friendly writing tool called Blurb, I’ve been busy at work writing the story of our trip to Italy.

In many ways, it’s been easier to work on it than I planned especially considering that there were new tricks I learned along the way. The things I learned I could do using the software program were things I wished for as I began working with the established layouts, but didn’t want to stop and sabotage my efforts. Plus I kept adding pages so what started off as approximately 40-pages quickly more than double and is now over 90-pages. And we’re only at Pisa so far!

I’ve recently discovered that the tool has more flexibility when it comes to formatting the layouts for each page than I thought. Creating and editing the layouts are also surprising simple to do. Once I discovered this, I immediately went back to the pages for which error messages mocked me, challenging me to pare down the number of characters, reduce the font size to six or select another layout for the page in order to enable my commentary to fix nicely on the page.

Halfway through this exercise, I was reading Bella Grace, a gorgeous new magazine published by Somerset and it gave me some excellent ideas on how to improve the look of the layout of my book. So I went back a third time and changed it up even further, adding various colors to the reverse print I had added, overlapping the print on my images and mixing up the way the images are presented on the page.

I like the new look and feel. It’s much classier and gives it a more artistic appearance which is time well spent especially when you consider that I’m putting together a book that incorporates photography with a story in the backdrop. Since the backdrop is Italy, home of the Sistine Chapel, Michelangelo, Leonardo Da Vinci, Raphael and Donatello (all four mutant ninja turtles for that matter) just any plain, jane, out of the box layout isn’t enough to satisfy most readers.

Right now I’ve completed approximately 50% of the book. Most of the pictures have been selected and I’ve either written the rough draft down on paper or it’s firmly rooted in my head so I expect the second half the story to be added at a much faster pace. Not that I’m trying to win a race, I just don’t want lose any momentum to a bad case of I’m bored or writer’s block.

I’ve enjoyed the whole process, remembering things about the trip that I have already forgotten. I found some notes I wrote on the day of our arrival. Things I didn’t want to forget. Things I’m glad I wrote down because out of the ten things that I wrote, I forgot about eight of them.

While there were days I didn’t write anything down, I think I documented roughly have of our time there. I’ve been trying to remember where I put my notes. Last night I became convinced that I may have my notes in my old laptop…another thing that makes me glad that I haven’t gotten rid of the laptop yet.

I was going to check it today when I remembered that the charger isn’t working. Since the battery wasn’t holding a charge this means I need to at least purchase a charger, if not a new battery, too. I don’t want to buy the charger only to find out that I need both. That would make me too impatient sad .

Originally, I was going to tell the story from my point of view only. After all, as the author, that should be my prerogative, but as I write, I’m not so convinced that this is the way to go.

I’m curious about what the girls were thinking as we roamed the streets of Pisa. Did they feel the same heaviness that I felt? Were they beginning to get worried that we may never find the car? Did I frustrate Liz when I not only insisted that she go into the gas stations to ask for directions, but I didn’t make any move to get out and join her. After all a second pair of ears would be better in understanding the directions.

My plan is this…to have the rough draft completed by the end of next week. If I continue at the current pace, I’m confident this timeline is more than doable. I’ll send the draft to the girls for review and response. I’ll give them a week or two to get back to me. I haven’t settled on a timeline. I would love, love, loved to have it back in a week, but while it may also be doable, it’s not very realistic to give everyone just a week to proof the book.

Next up…These are the Things I want to Say to You

Next up up…This is dedicated to the Ones I Love

Next up up up…Coffee in My Cup

No more writer’s block. PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

