Writing 101 – Time Will Tell

There has been so much inspiration in my life over the past month. It has come in the form of a quote, a movie, an email or call from a loved one or acquaintance. Each time I’m convinced this will be the kick in the pants I need to get myself moving in the right direction. After all, there has been, confirmation from various sources encouraging me to travel down the same road which makes me believe much of this comes with God’s blessing.

Why then has writer’s and creativity block hounded me during all this time? Every day I think about writing. Then each night I go to bed unfulfilled because the well has been dry. I don’t know who is experiencing the bigger drought, the state of California or the state of Debra’s mind.

This I do know. Something has to be done to get this going again. This morning I sat at the kitchen table, my mind in a haze. Most days it’s hard to concentrate. I often feel that I’m in the midst of a dream and some days are worse than others. Today on a scale of 1-10, 10 being worse, it was a five. Somewhere in the middle of the day, the fog lifted and now just past midnight, my mind is suddenly clear and I’m not sure what to do with it.

I struggle with the thought of going to sleep because I don’t want this feeling to end, I’ve waited for it too long. Yet, I’ve been sitting here for the last 30-minutes trying to think of something, anything, to write about, culling through my pictures, hoping and praying that something I see will ignite that spark that keeps tugging at me.

Nothing. Then I opened my blog bookmarks and click on the following link that I haven’t clicked on since I added the URL to my bookmarks. It’s called Where Would We Be Without Words.

The eighth quote kicked me in the pants. Thankfully, my bottom isn’t where the brain freeze is located, even if there are some of you out there who would disagree. The quote is from Louis L’Amour. If you’re not familiar with him, he’s an author with numerous western novels to his credit. The quote is as follows:

Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.
Louis L’Amour
It’s obvious…in order to break this block, I’ve got to start chopping away at it. The only way to do it is to write. Write every day, even if I’m writing garbage about nothing which explains the drabble above that you’ve had to put up with. That should be easy. Still I just sat here, my head bobbing fighting the urge to drop off to dreamland.
After a long and unproductive 30 minutes had passed, I wandered to my wordpress page and found a post indicating that in April, there would be another Writing 101 course. If you’re experiencing the same problem and are interested in learning more and joining along, go here for the nitty gritty.
Just a disclaimer…historically I stink at the daily prompt thing. Doesn’t matter if it’s a writing prompt or photo prompt. I generally start off pretty quickly off the blocks and die off just as quickly before I get to the finish line. The ironic thing is that a long time ago, our CEO asked the management team to give him a list of two or three flaws we believed we had as a company that was impacting our client satisfaction.
Having just “finished” a large project, I had plenty for which to write. My first observation resonated with the CEO because he would often bring this up during our townhall meetings. It went something like this, “Often we mistake seeing the finish line with crossing the finish line.” At the time, there was a lot of truth to my statement which is why I believe it spoke to him the way it did.
What he didn’t know was that when I made this observation, I was including myself as a culprit of this bad habit. So we’ll see what happens. I may just write every day. It may start off as horrible as this drabble and get better. It may never get better. It may just be another failed attempt in which I’m lucky if I write at least once a week. It may be just the kick in the pants that I need to get going again.
16687664007_c5c523fa5a_z
Time will tell. Time will tell.
Leave a Reply

